Day 20 – San Diego

Today was a perfect vacation day. I got up late and watched Germany beat France and advancing into the semi-finals. There were 7 people in the room, mostly Americans, a Swiss girl, and an old, grumpy Australian lady.

During halftime she made us switch to another channel so she could watch tennis and when the second half started and it got really intense she wanted to switch the channel to check the score at Wimbledon! Everyone in the room was protesting and we all knew she had no chance. You could really feel the power of soccer. Too bad that some people are so ignorant.


IMG_3250


I used the rest of the day to bike around in the area, along the river and ended up at the beach. For lunch I had a delicious Baconator from Wendy’s and returned to the hostel to do my reviews for diving class. There are are 5 dives for me to complete in order to get my advanced diving license. Every dive has its own chapter in the book, and a knowledge review quiz that we had to hand in with the instructors.


Since it’s the 4th of July, Independence Day in the US, there are flags basically everywhere and I have been seeing and hearing fireworks going off a lot. This is my second Independence Day in the US – The last one was also during a world cup. I was in Boston for 3 months exactly 4 years ago. It feels crazy that it’s so long ago and I can’t wait to go back in August!


IMG_3259


When the sun started setting it painted the sky in beautiful colours and I made my way to the San Diego Harbour, because that’s where they have great fireworks every year on July 4th. They were shooting breathtaking fireworks off of the 4 biggest boats in the harbour, spontaneously! Everybody was sitting around the water on grass fields, BBQing, drinking, and showing off their American flag in every way possible. The fireworks went on for almost 25 minutes and it was amazing to watch. This by far topped every display of fireworks that I have seen in my life. You could feel the force of the explosions in your chest and the noises echoed over the water at an unbelievable volume.


IMG_3287


1 Comment

  1. I love, love, love fireworks!! Great shot! Wish I’d been there with you.
    That silly Australian woman should have gone to a sports bar to watch Wimbledon with other tennis lovers.
    I’m so glad for you and Philip that Germany won!!

Leave a comment