Day 24/25 – Los Angeles / Vancouver / Whistler

I shared the airport shuttle going to LAX with a fellow hostel guest who as it turned out was Brazilian. After Germany destroyed Brazil in a humiliating 7-1 defeat in the semi-finals the day before I felt bad introducing myself to him as a German but he immediately held out his hand and said congratulations to a great game. I thought that was a very impressive move that I wouldn’t have expected. I flew home to Vancouver and watched the other semi-final game at the airport while waiting for my bus up to Whistler.


IMG_3377


It feels so great to be back in Canada. It always does. The clean, comfortable Vancouver airport has become a welcoming place for me and I cannot wait to go there on Sunday to pick up my brother after 11 months of not seeing each other! Driving up to Whistler on the Sea-to-Sky highway was amazing as always, the sun setting in the background and the beautiful summer in BC at its finest.


IMG_3382


Only one day back in Whistler and I already saw a bear. We drove up to the Callahan Park, about 20 minutes south of Whistler. This spot has proven to be a bear guarantee for us so far, and we weren’t disappointed this time either. By now I am starting to lose count of how many bears I’ve seen this year, which is really cool to say. This one was just a cub, walking around slowly and eating anything in its way. They never really pay attention to cars or people, they just do their thing.


Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 1.33.44 PM


California was unbelievable. One month filled with adventures, experiences and excitement. I learned so much, met so many amazing people and got to experience Californian lifestyle in some of the nicest places on earth. Thank you to everyone who has been reading this blog and showed interest in my travels. I am looking forward to a great summer 2o14 with friends and family and I will be back!

Leave a comment