Day 14 – Los Angeles / Malibu

I got up really early to meet up with Eddie again before he started work at 1pm. One thing on my LA-bucket list was going up to the Hollywood sign and getting as close to it as possible. And that’s exactly what we did.

We met up at 8:00am and took the bus up north. At the busstop there was a homeless guy taking a soap bath in one of the big water fountains, it was quite entertaining for everyone waiting! After getting off the bus it took us approximately 1 hour to hike up the hill on very curvy, dusty roads. The views along the way were awesome and the higher we got in elevation, the more we were able see of the city below us.


Image


It felt so weird to be that close to the sign because I’ve seen it on TV so many times, but actually looking at in in real life was awesome. Unfortunately we had to rush back down so Eddie could make it to work on time and I returned to the hostel, exhausted from the sun and the hike, to take a nap.


Image


When I got back up about an hour later, I took the bus going to Malibu. A surfer that I met at breakfast earlier had told me that Point Dume on Malibu Beach is a must-see in when you are in the area. It took me probably about 2 hours to get there by bus. I enjoyed the ride, with the Pacific to my left and lots of really interesting people on the busses. The beach itself was really beautiful and I laid down on the beach for a while, listening to music, enjoying the sun, watching surfers and recording the sunset with my GoPro.

While I was watching the reflections of the sunlight glittering on the harsh waves crashing in, I saw three fins popping out of the water. I was shocked. There were three dolphins right in front of me, jumping out of the ocean, spraying water around and looking as free as can be. This was the first time I have ever seen wild dolphins in real life. I had goosebumps everywhere. That moment was just perfect. The sun setting in the background, the last rays warming me as I was watching pacific wildlife only metres away from me. It was magical.


Image


These are the kind of days that I want to have when I go travelling. It was filled with action, excitement and beauty.

1 Comment

  1. Wow, another great day!! Love the photo with you and the Hollywood sign.
    I love the way the dolphins play together like kids!!

Leave a comment