Day 15 – Los Angeles

I woke up late and went to have breakfast at IHOP down the street from the hostel. LA makes me really tired somehow. I’m not sure if it’s the weather, the busyness of the city or the constant paranoia of getting robbed… One day in LA feels like 3 days anywhere else. I have to come back to this city with a car, it will be a totally different experience.

After breakfast I went back to the hostel to do some writing and computer stuff, and I wanted to research things to do on my last day in LA. I took the red subway line from Hollywood Blvd. all the way to Union Station to explore downtown Los Angeles. In cities like Vancouver or San Francisco it is so easy to just walk around the downtown area, in LA not so much.

From Union Station I walked past Chinatown and followed the skyscrapers into the heart of downtown. It feels like the city is bilingual, like Quebec or Montreal. Every sign on subways, busses, stores and streets is in English and Spanish. If I didn’t know I was in America, my first guess would have been Mexico.


Image


I grabbed a sub on my way to Perishing Square, one of the ‘parks’ of LA. I miss nature and being able to step out of my front door and be in the wildernis. There was an ad for Whistler on one of the busses and it felt so weird to see the village centre, covered in snow, while driving through the heat of Los Angeles.

The tiny grass field of Perishing Square was filled with people trying to escape the concrete jungle for a while and homeless people using the shade of the trees as a place to sleep. I sat down on the grass and finally got the chance to continue reading Emerson! I really like the book, it is so inspirational and I can identify so well with Emersons thoughts. Eventhough he is from a completely different time and space there are lots of things we have in common. Love for nature is definitely the biggest one!


Image


After wandering around downtown a little longer, I headed back to the hostel to pack my things and get ready for my trip to San Diego. My Australian roommates invited me to have a beer with them and I called it a night after that.

Los Angeles was an unforgettable experience for me, but it will not make the list of my favourite cities, as Eddie kept on asking me. For now I’m happy to continue my trip and move on to San Diego. Hopefully I will be able to end my trip on a chill vibe with water sports, beaches and relaxing!

1 Comment

  1. LA is not one of my favourites either, although I haven’t seen as much as you. I was absolutely terrified driving there, the 8-10 lane highways, with drivers cutting across many lanes in a chase to get somewhere.And the pollution is overwhelming. Maybe that’s what made your body so tired.
    San Diego I really enjoyed. Looking forward to your thoughts.

Leave a comment